Uncategorized

176. Trees.

Visited the Redwood National Park today. And per the suggestions of my host, decided to hike down to the Tall Trees Grove, home to some of the tallest trees in the world (and a rumored filming location for Return of the Jedi).

I am not outdoorsy by any means. But when you get a chance to visit such a place, you take it.

Admittedly, I almost didn’t, because it’s been raining all day and spending hours in dreary weather didn’t seem very appealing. I sat in my car for a while, contemplating driving back down the foggy mountain path to do the much easier and shorter hike around the Lady Bird Johnson Grove.

But no. I had gotten the permit from the Park Service. I had stood in the rain already, trying to figure out how to close the combination lock on the access road. I was going to do this.

It’s about 5 miles round trip, with a more than 800-foot drop on elevation. That steep drop is no joke (especially when you’re going back up) and I found myself staring at the ground for much of the trip down to make sure I didn’t lose my footing.

But in those moments when I got to look up…man.

20140625-213337-77617766.jpg

I should have brought a map of the grove with me, because I couldn’t figure out which one was the Libbey Tree, formerly the tallest tree in the world. I also had no idea which ones were the other tallest trees. But when you’re standing at the base of them, maybe it doesn’t really matter which ones are the biggest, because regardless, you are a dwarf in comparison.

20140625-213745-77865739.jpg

Scratching this one off the life to-do list.

Standard

Leave a Reply

