project 365

96. Pops.

In honor of tonight’s season premiere of Game of Thrones, I was going to make Ned Stark cake pops (basic principals: red velvet cake, white chocolate coating tinted with cocoa powder to make it look like flesh*, dark chocolate for hair and facial features, skewers as the cake sticks to make it look like it’s on a stake).

But, after much effort and some chocolate melting failures, all I ended up with were many dirty dishes, several red velvet cake balls on sticks**, a bowl of hardened dark chocolate and an extra cake (I was so tired of scooping things into the damn cake pop pan that I just threw the rest of the batter into a tin).

There were many reasons it went wrong: I didn’t actually follow any sort of recipe, this was my first time actually making cake pops and I attempted to do this in the span of a few hours, since I packed my weekend full with arts events. Cake pops, I’ve decided, are more trouble than they are worth.

However. I really want to eat Ned Stark’s head. I just do. And I have a lot of bamboo sticks and a lot of chocolate leftover. And roommate Kaitie has officially gifted me her cake pop pan.

So, the endeavor to create GoT cake pops shall continue until I triumph. After all, when you play the game of…baking?…cake pops?..you win or you die.

God, I really need to get some sleep.

*This, I did manage to do successfully.
**I’m told they at least tasted good, so that’s something.

Standard

Leave a Reply

