project 365

57. Steak.

Today, I cooked myself a steak. Confession: I have never done this before.

It’s just something I’ve managed to avoid since I left for college. During those years in Reno, I reasoned that I was simply too poor to buy steak and opted to eat a variety of things that stuck to my tiny budget, like mac ‘n cheese and eggs and toast and such (please note:  I have not broken these habits at all in the years since).

Then, when I moved to D.C. and got a job and all that jazz, I figured I couldn’t do it because I didn’t have a grill. What was this pan searing others spoke of? My parents only grilled things, so therefore, that was the only method that existed for me, too.

Until today.

What brought this about was this craving for red meat that started nearly two weeks ago. To be honest, I’m not sure what started it, only that it continued to persist. So, I finally decided to take care of it by buying a raw sirloin during this week’s grocery trip and scheduling a day to make it (I realize that this sounds a little ridiculous, but in my life, this kind of thing is a necessity).

I ended up Lifehacking my way through the process, and while I’m sure there’s plenty of room for improvement, I think the end result was pretty good.

Look Ma, I can cook.

Look Ma, I can cook.

Funnily enough, this didn’t really put an end to my steak craving. So, if anyone’s up for visiting Medium Rare‘s new location on Barrack’s Row, let’s go.

Standard

Leave a Reply

