project 365

19. Her.

Saw “Her” tonight with friends Mackenzie, Sarah, Sara and roommate Kaitie. About an hour later, I’m still not quite sure how I feel about the film itself (this may be because I’m not sure what any of my emotions actually are at the moment).

The movie — a tale about a man who has fallen in love with his OS — makes me contemplate communication and how that pertains to relationships (with other people and with technology). Joaquin Phoenix’s character, Theodore, is comfortable talking to his OS, voiced by Scarlett Johansson. The film specifically touches on how at least one other named character also bonds with an OS, but more fascinating were the shots of just the random strangers who were also gesticulating wildly into the air in public, suggesting that they, too, had found connections.

The point is that Theodore, though our main character, is not alone in his situation. Not by a long shot.

What does that say about this futuristic society that has produced people who appear to be more interested in communicating with something that is artificial than other human beings (perhaps, as one person suggests, because it is easier to deal with a computer’s responses than with a human’s emotions)? And, further, what does that say about the society we live in now, where communication has boiled down to tweets and texts and emails?

I think it’s going to take some contemplation for me to reach my own verdict, though there isn’t a right or wrong answer. The only thing I’m sure of right now is that the American History through Film class I took in college really did get into my head. The overanalysis of movies never ends.

Standard

Leave a Reply

