project 365

16. Margaritas.

I had grand plans to start drinking margaritas shortly after 5 p.m. today, but that was foiled when the Senate decided to vote on the omnibus. I still arrived at Hill Country before happy hour was over, and was able to hang out with friends Juana, Mackenzie, Emily and Sarah for the next few hours, drinking three pitchers of margs and eating unmentionable amounts of barbecue.

I once said that I turn to margaritas when I’m having a crisis, which has proven true on so many occasions over the years. But sometimes, I turn to them for the good stuff, too. I’m lucky to have friends who are willing to consume margaritas with me no matter the situation.

On that note, I guess I should mention why we drank three pitchers. And this time around, it’s good news.

Starting on Monday (or I guess Tuesday, since I decided to take Monday off), I’ll be a reporter on E&E’s natural resources team, leaving my clipping* days (and 8 a.m. starts) behind me. Will continue to cover the issues I’ve been following in recent months — fisheries, oceans, wildlife, endangered species, etc. It’s a chance to grow as a daily beat reporter and do more congressional coverage. I’m very excited for the opportunity.

Had you told me this is what I would be doing when I first moved to D.C., I probably wouldn’t have believed you. First off, what do you mean I’m a REPORTER? Those jobs don’t exist anymore. Second, how am I still in D.C.? I was only supposed to be here for three months, tops. Third, the environment? I know nothing about the environment.

But here I am.

2014, we aren’t really on good terms. But maybe this is a step in the right direction.

*Clipping = basically aggregation.

Standard

Leave a Reply

