Uncategorized

8. Numb.

That’s what my fingers were when I was covering an event at the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial this morning, mostly because I couldn’t take notes and write a story with gloves on.

(However, I’m now wondering if it’s harder to type with gloves or when you can’t actually feel your fingertips. Something to test on another day, I suppose.)

Friend Emerson mocked me, saying that he reported in sub-zero weather the other day. But I think there is something to be said about sitting in a chair for 40 minutes at an outdoor memorial near the water when the temperature is less than 20 degrees. And it is this: brrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Bright side: While I wrote a good chunk of the story while sitting in aforementioned chair, I got to finish it in the heated tent nearby. Can now say I’ve filed while standing on the National Mall.

Image

Pictured: Interior Secretary Sally Jewell, a random dude’s back, the corner of my work laptop.

Standard

Leave a Reply

