project 366

Three years. (Day…)

After watching the latest episode of “How I Met Your Mother,” I can’t help but contemplate how much does or doesn’t happen in that much time.

Without giving away any spoilers, the episode shows characters Ted, Marshall and Barney fantasizing about their lives in three year intervals.

Which leads me to…Where was I three years ago?

2009: I was in college. I was still reeling from a bit of a quarter-life crisis the semester before, which included not being selected as the next editor in chief of the Sagebrush. I didn’t have a car. I had just started working for Nevada Humanities. I was taking an online journalism class, focusing my project on the higher ed budget cuts. I didn’t have an internship set up for the summer. I think I may have gone home for spring break, but honestly, I don’t remember. I had no idea where my life was going.

Three years before that…

2006: I was in high school. I had just gotten back from trips to New York and San Francisco. I was glowing because of my college acceptance letters. I was mad that no one would support me going to NYU. I was dragged during my spring break to northern California, where we drove from Sacramento to Stockton to Tahoe to Reno, and I wandered around that university campus, thinking I could never go here. I left a really good mix CD in that rental car. I was editor in chief of Accolades, putting together the monstrous senior issue. I was trying to figure out what came next. I had no idea where my life was going.

And finally…

2012: I’m an adult (more or less). At least, I’m not in school. I haven’t had a vacation since Christmas, but I’m planning trips home for my brother’s high school graduation and Conrad’s wedding. I’m working as a reporter in D.C., covering a topic that I wouldn’t have been able to tell you anything about six months ago. I quit my first job out of college. I’m living in the kind of apartment that 20-somethings live in: comfortable and a little shady. I have no idea where my life is going, but I’m OK with that.

Standard

Leave a Reply

