life, sappy

Cliché.

Chocolate-covered strawberries.

Champagne.

Candlelight.

I love you.

Marry me.

Boomboxes blaring “In Your Eyes.”

Or losing that loving feeling.

Here’s looking at you, kid.

Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.

Mr. Darcy.

Romeo.

Juliet.

Flowers.

Chocolates.

Promises you don’t intend to keep.

Or promises you do.

Clichés get a bad wrap. Don’t use them. You don’t want to be one. You want to be original. Unique. Special.

But sometimes I wonder, what’s so wrong with wanting the cliché? Even if it’s only for a moment. Even if it’s for longer than a moment.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

(P.S. Of course, I do love Octavio Paz’s “No More Clichés.” I’m just a walking contradiction.)

Standard

Leave a Reply

