DC, life

Right place, right time.

Things always work out in my life. It’s usually nothing like the way I imagined it, but it still works out.

One good example: If you had asked me four years ago if I thought that going to the University of Nevada was good for me and my journalistic aspirations, I would have laughed and been like, “Dude, are you kidding?” (though I’m not sure if that “dude” would have been a part of the sentence, because I think that speech habit was picked up during college).

And now? Going to UNR — and thus, the Reynolds School of Journalism — turned out to be a blessing. First off, I don’t have $150,000+ in student loans (thank you, cheap instate tuition). I also had some of the best experiences of my life, which include covering the 2008 election night Dem party for the Associated Press with a really, really bad cold (I toughed it out, but was out of commission for a week after the election was over) or sitting in North Lake Tahoe for book club, looking out at the water and thinking, “Damn. That’s pretty.”

Other times this has happened in my life:
– I accidentally went to a news meeting instead of an arts and entertainment meeting on my first day at the Sagebrush. A year later, I was the news editor. Go figure.
– I ended up quitting the Sagebrush 2.5 years after that first meeting because of my quarter-life crisis. I didn’t have another job, but I just needed to breathe. Two lovely things happened after I quit: (1) I ended up joining my lovely book club, and (2) I landed a job at Nevada Humanities after a month of applying for retail and food industry positions that I wasn’t qualified for because I’d never worked a cash register.
–  I didn’t get editor of the Sagebrush. Yeah, after all that “I don’t know why I work for the Sagebrush anymore” stuff, I realized I did want to work there because I wanted to help usher it into the future, etc., etc. But the committee decided it didn’t want me at the helm of the paper. It was disappointing. Then, a few weeks later, I was offered the chance to start a multimedia department at Insight Magazine, another student publication at UNR. The editor at the time thought that I could apply the ideas I had for the Sagebrush to Insight…and I like to think she was right. After all, Insight’s been nominated for an Associated Collegiate Press Online Pacemaker. I’m not saying that’s all me. I’m just saying that I helped.
– I didn’t land an internship last summer (April 2009 was kind of depressing for me). But, as it turned out, I didn’t really need one. I started that multimedia department, I continued working for Nevada Humanities, I freelanced and worked on a niche publication for the RGJ and I helped organize a high school journalism institute. And, of course, I got to go on those aforementioned beach trips to Tahoe every other weekend.

That all finally brings me to the point of this post. Last November, I went into “OMG, what am I doing with my life?” mode, because May 2010 was near and I didn’t know what was supposed to come after I donned a cap and gown. While looking for internships to apply for, I came across an ad for Roll Call. I emailed the editor, and she told me to get back to her in February, when she might be thinking about summer internships. I filed away that information in the back of my brain.

By February, I’d started applying for full-time jobs just about everywhere* that had a listing. While looking through my inbox, I came across that email I had sent to Roll Call months before, and I figured it was worth a shot. Yeah, a summer internship wasn’t a job, but it would put off the job hunt worries for a few months. I sent in my application, and within a few weeks, I had a job interview. A week after that, I was offered the internship.

Getting here was a pain (at first, my parents were completely against the idea of me picking up and moving across the country for something that wasn’t permanent), but I loved it from the start.

And after some shuffling around in the company and being at the paper for only a month, I was offered a full-time job. I started Monday, and I don’t plan on leaving anytime soon.

So I guess what I need to say is thanks, Universe. You haven’t let me down yet.

* A couple weeks after I accepted the internship, I got a phone call from a paper in Utah that was interested in interviewing me for a full-time reporting job. When I say Utah, I don’t mean Salt Lake City. I mean somewhere in between Salt Lake and the Colorado border, where there isn’t much of anything. Like I said. Everywhere. Or, in this case, maybe “nowhere” is a better description.

Standard

One thought on “Right place, right time.

  1. Dana says:

    Im so proud of you thanking the universe. Most of the time we forget to say that. Im so glad you did come to UNR cause life would have been very, very boring without you!

Leave a Reply

