Lost

Team Sawyer.

Once upon a time, I didn’t really care about Lost. Then I started working with Karen, who told me that the show was brilliant. So I started watching it.

From day one, I was sucked in. I’d come to work and tell Karen about where I was, since I had months to finish and catch up before the final season started.

But things were not meant to be in this Lost universe. As the seasons wore on, I realized that Jack was whiny and annoying as a hero. I much preferred Sawyer (someone explained why that was here).

And that created a “rift” between me and Karen.

This eventually resulted in the Lost battle. She put Jack pictures and quote up around my desk, and I used dozens of Post-Its for every single nickname Sawyer used on the show for the first five seasons.

Now that I don’t work with Karen anymore, I find myself missing our Lost discussions and our smugness about our teams (Team Jack vs. Team Sawyer) being better.

And today, I got an email from her, telling me that her new assistant actually found a piece of paper I intended to use in our battle. Written on the paper was Jack/Sawyer dialogue. I think it proves that Sawyer is awesome. Karen thinks it proves that Jack is awesome. So it goes.

I tried to find it on YouTube, but alas, no one seems to find the scene as great as we do. So I’ve provided the dialogue for you.

Jack: So where do we go from here?

Sawyer: I’m working on it.

Jack: Really? Because it looked to me like you were reading a book.

Sawyer: I heard once Winston Churchill read a book every night, even during the blitz. He said it made him think better. It’s ho I like to run things. I think. I’m sure that doesn’t much to you, ’cause back when you were calling the shots, you pretty much just reacted. See, you didn’t think, Jack, and as I recall, a lot of people ended up dead.

Jack: I got us off this island.

Sawyer: But here you are, right back where you started. So I’m gonna go back to reading my book, and I’m gonna think, ’cause that’s how I saved your ass today. And that’s how I’m gonna save Sayid’s tomorrow. All you gotta do is go home, get a good night’s rest. Let me do what I do. Now ain’t that a relief?

Jack: Yeah.

Note: I am not a fangirl. I was once accused of being a fangirl (surprisingly by a Team Jack person). When it comes down to it, Jack is technically my type. Sawyer just won me over.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Team Sawyer.

  1. Karen says:

    Woo-Hoo! I scored a blog post!! Did I call you a fangirl? I usually only call boys fangirls.

    Jack is *not* whiny. Do you know how frustrating it would be to do everything right by normal standards and have it end in disaster — because he was actually in bizarro world. I would be whiny too. ACTION JACK RULES!!!

    • jessica says:

      I think Walter called me a fangirl via you via iChat one day at the office. He said I was actually a fan of a shirtless Josh Holloway, not Sawyer.

      Say what you will. At least I made a shirt.

      • Karen says:

        Oh that’s right. I think he was only saying that because I called him a fangirl and he got mad at me. But he ran across a street at Comic-Con to get his picture taken with Milo Ventimiglia and passed on the opportunity to talk to Damon and Carlton. Crazy.

        Oh, and don’t think I’m letting the shirt comment go unnoticed. . . .

Leave a Reply

