Uncategorized

The “missing you” list.

It’s not quite yet time to say goodbye (so don’t cue Andrea Bocelli just yet), but I’m feel particularly nostalgic as my college years come to a close. Fifteen days from today, I graduate with my bachelor’s in journalism. Twenty-five days from today, I move across the country for a summer job and to begin a brand new chapter of my life.

It’s exciting, but you know what? I’m going to miss Reno and the rest of Northern Nevada.

Don’t get me wrong. I can’t wait to see what’s next. But I’ve made some good friends and I’ve had some good times. Instead of recounting those memories for you, I will instead just make a list of things I will miss (which will probably be added to).

– summers days in Tahoe
– spring, summer, fall days by the Truckee River
– Bibo’s, Java Jungle, My Favorite Muffin, the coffee shop in front of the library, etc.
– Gold ‘N Silver nights. God, I’m really going to miss Gold ‘N Silver nights.
– the j-school
– the Macs  in the j-school and the @One lab
– the really bad decision to go to the pub/bar on a Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday/Friday night, well aware that I have something to do in the morning
– lying in the Manzanita Bowl or next to the quad, reading a book
– book club and the lovely ladies who are in it
– random holiday meals with other people’s families
– my house
– sitting around watching How I Met Your Mother/Gilmore Girls/Pushing Daisies/Buffy/Angel/etc. all day with my roommates
– my roommates
– coordinating costumes for the Harry Potter movie night and having Harry Potter movie week
– driving around the McCarran loop with Zeller
– randomly dropping by Deidre’s office to chat and having Jake stick his head in and ask if we’ve taken over the j-school yet
– skipping class
– going to class
– Insight Magazine meetings (who knew…kidding)
– Nevada Humanities and the awesome people I’ve been able to work with
– Reno Aces baseball games
– epic parties, including the Halloween party where everyone I’ve never met showed up, and the bongos and beatniks party, which Taylor calls the most pretentious party he’s ever been to
– my ballroom dancing class
– lunches in the DC
– executing plans with Rachel
– sitting in my awesome recliner while wearing my snuggie
– random trips to Sacramento
– being only three hours away from San Francisco
– making up songs about my friends’ antics (La cougar Adam, la cougar Adam…)
– being able to always find someone to do something with me any night of the week

I know things will always change and nothing stays for long, but man. It’s been a beautiful four years.

Standard

Leave a Reply

