Uncategorized

These are a few of my favorite things.

After being inspired by one of Chuck Klosterman’s articles, I decided to go through a few of my favorite songs to make a similar list, partly because I thought it was a good idea, and partly because I’m procrastinating.

Enjoy.

(1) The first fifteen seconds of Ne-Yo’s “Closer” because of the beat and the way his voice repeats that word.

(2) 3OH!3’s “Don’t Trust Me” at 2:13 through 2:27, when he says, “Shush girl, shut your lips. Do the Helen Keller and talk with your hips.” One, Helen Keller is a trump card. Two, it’s only effective the first two times.

(3) When the guitar begins in George Michael’s “Faith” until he finishes the first two lines of the song (“Well, I guess it would be nice if I could touch your body, I know not everybody has got a body like you”), before the “Ohh.”

(4) Limp Bizkit’s cover of the above song, but only when they sing, “Bay-bay.”

(5) Travis Barker’s drum solo at the end of the album version of “I’m Lost Without You” by Blink-182. Listen to it with headphones on and you’ll see what I mean.

(6) This entire clip of BYU Vocal Point’s “He Is Born,” but especially at 1:06, when the lead singer hits that high note.

(7) Leo Sayer’s “You Make Me Feel Like Dancing” makes me feel true to its title during the last bit of the chorus through 1:22, even if he looks kind of scary in the video.

(8) From 0:39 to 1:25 of Maria Mena’s “Sorry.” It just feels so…honest.

(9) I still believe that the best version I’ve ever heard of this song was an a capella arrangement at my final choir concert in high school. But since a recording of that has yet to be uploaded to the Internet, I’ll settle for the original “Such Great Heights” by Postal Service (but mostly the first 24 seconds).

(10) Tracie Thomas and Anthony Rapp’s harmony at the end of RENT’s “Tango Maureen” is gorgeous, especially from 3:08 to 3:22.

Standard

One thought on “These are a few of my favorite things.

Leave a Reply

