Uncategorized

An explanation (written from my desk at the ‘Brush)

It’s funny how quickly the word spreads.

During the last few days, people stopped me on the stairs, professors approached me before class and one person even got down on his knees at the state legislature and begged me not to leave.

And what would compel people to do this? Because I decided that I need a break from the Sagebrush.

Who knew people cared about what I did with my time?

When I applied for a job here in July 2006, I was fresh out of high school and excited about any prospects that UNR could bring me.

That same passion kept me with the ‘Brush for two years. I went from designing pages and writing random stories to being an assistant news editor and covering the student government. Then I took on the next year as news editor, covering everything from student deaths to budget cuts to earthquakes.

It was a great two years. Even when I was crying at my desk or frustrated about stories not coming in, I loved my job.

I can’t say the same thing about this semester. I don’t know why that is, but whatever passion it was that kept me going through two years of long hours and little pay seemed to dissipate. People commented on it – that I seemed more unfocused, that I wasn’t working up to my potential, that my priorities seemed to be mixed up.

They were right.

I spent the last three weeks of my life trying to figure out why I work at the Sagebrush. I realized I was here out of obligation instead of passion, and that wasn’t good for me or for the paper.

I’ll be the first to admit that I never thought this would happen. I’m one of those people who has the five-year plan. This decision wasn’t a part of the plan. I’m very comfortable here. It’s a paycheck I could depend on in a crappy economy, a place where I know I’ll be published, a group of friends I’m glad to have in my life.

But I think it’s time to get out of my comfort zone. Or, you know, getter better grades in my classes. I was a good student, once upon a time.

I love the Sagebrush, but I love me more. This paper has been my life for a very long time, and now it’s time to figure out what else my life has to offer. When I’ve figured out my own life, I’ll be back. That’s not a promise or a guarantee, but I think it’s true.

Until then, people in the office are making bets on my return.

Here’s the pool for my return date from what I’ve gathered so far:
– Emerson, sports editor: three hours
– Emily, design editor: Feb. 1
– Nick, EIC: Valentine’s Day
– Casey, multimedia kid: mid-semester
– Devin, former photo editor: mid-February

Standard

Leave a Reply

