Uncategorized

Cleaning off the desk.

It’s my last full-time weekday here at the RGJ. I’m still covering the state fair tomorrow, but I’ll be too busy to clean my desk.

Where did the summer go? I have to admit I’m kinda relieved that the 8-hour shift thing is almost over – I’ve been pulling double duty here and at the Sagebrush and worked for a combined total of 17 hours on Tuesday. But it’s still weird to think about.

I just took the drug test to get hired onto the temp team here (and as a sidenote, it must be so much easier being a man and taking a drug test because at least you can aim).

I’ve more convinced now that this is what I want to do with my life, even if I’m reaching the brink of sanity this week. I’m lucky to have gotten this internship. I hadn’t meant to stay in Reno (or Nevada, for that matter) when I started searching for a job last October, but that’s how it worked out, and I’ve had a blast. I’ve had dozens of bylines, I’ve met hundreds of people – hell, I even had my aura read. I’ve put so much effort into this because I’ve wanted to prove myself. And I feel that for the most part, I have.

So I guess what it all comes down to is…well, thank you, RGJ, for my crazy summer. Thank you for the long hours and the interesting editors, the horses and hot dogs, the fellow interns and the new friends. I know it’s not over between us – and I can honestly say that I’m glad it’s not.

Standard

Leave a Reply

